This is a current awareness blog that links to the latest sources of information on Basque Pelota matches and Tournaments. It covers both North and South Basque modalities: Mano, Main Nue, Pala, Paleta, Remonte, Cesta Punta, Jai Alai, and minor modalites. We link to match articles, statistics and video highlights and/or full match videos.

Monday, August 15, 2016

Remonte--Tourneo Kuxtabank--Workings of the Tournament, Players--Results leading to the beginning of the league phase

Oriamendi2010 Player Pages

Note: all the below listed matches, as well as all of the rest of the tournament have been and will continue to be covered individually in the Remonte Galarreta "Star" match results under the recurring results links on the right side of the page.

The 34th Tourneo Kuxtabank singles competition, at the Galarrata Fronton (Hernani), a 54 meter mur a gauche, entered its league phase on Saturday, August 13, 2016. The lead up to the league phase was played from July 23 - August 11. Four players have been seeded into the league phase in two groups. Urriza and Endika  are in Group A. Uterga and Barrenetxea IV are in Group B , Nine other players played for the third slot in each group.

Zaldua defeated Martirena 30-18 on July 23 (Martirena finished 0-1)
Otano defeated Erburu 30-19 on July 28 (Erburu finished 0-1)
Zaldua defeated Otano 30-12 on July 30 (Otano finished 1-1)

Segurola defeated Zaldua 30-28 on August 4 (Zaldua finished 2-1)
Ion defeated Segurola 30-20 on August 9 (Segurola finished 1-1)

Ion won the right to join Urriza and Endika in Group A

Aizpuru III defeated Ansa II 30-17 on August 6 (Ansa II finished 0-1)
Aizpuru III defeated Matxin III 30-29 on August 11 (Matxin III finished 0-1)

Aizpuru III won the right to join Uterga and Barrenetxea IV in Group B

Table determination in the league phase:

Matches are played to 30 points.

Winner of a match--4 points
Loser: 27-29--2 points; 24-26--1 point; <24--0 points

The league phase will be a round robin in each group. This phase will be played on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, lasting from August 13-25. First and second place in each group advance. Semi-finals are August 27 and September 3. 1st place v 2nd place in the other group. Winners will play in a final on September 10.