This is a current awareness blog that links to the latest sources of information on Basque Pelota matches and Tournaments. It covers both North and South Basque modalities: Mano, Main Nue, Pala, Paleta, Remonte, Cesta Punta, Jai Alai, and minor modalites. We link to match articles, statistics and video highlights and/or full match videos.

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Pala--Kirol Txartela Masters Tournament--Players--Tournament Regulations--Schedule--Day 1, 2 (Round 1) Results

The Kirol Txartela Masters Tournament  at the Atano III FrontonDonastia (San Sebastian) began on July 6, 2016.  It will end with a final on August 17, 2016. The Tournament link above explains the nature of the tournament and how it is to be contested. The same information is also available in less graphic form at InnPala. Basically it is an 8 team doubles tournament, consisting of the entire 10 man InnPala roster along with 6 invited amateurs. The teams are split into two 4 team groups. This is a short court tournament. Each match will be contested to a best three out of five 10 point jokos (sets). Table points are determined entirely by number of  jokos won. The league phase will consist of a single round robin in each group, with each player playing every other week. Matches will take place every Wednesday evening. At the end of the league phase there will be a final. Source for all match scores: InnPala Twitter feed. For more information on professional players see the player pages linked to on the right side of the blog.

Note: *=Amateur

First Day: July 6, 2016. 

Group A: Landeta--Ibai-Perez defeated Necol-Andueza* 3-1 (9-10, 10-4, 10-5, 10-6)

Group B:  Arozena*-Ibargarai defeated Fusto-J. Irigoyen* 3-0 (10-9, 10-7, 10-7)

Second Day: July 13, 2016

Group A: Navarro*-Brefel defeated Gaubeka-Irigoyen* 3-0 (10-7, 10-6, 10-9)

Group B:  Zubiri-Ayerbe defeated Ibarguren*-Imanol 3-2 (5-10, 10-7, 7-10, 10-5, 10-8)

Group A Table:

Navarro*-Brefel (1-0) (3-0)--3 points
Landeta--Ibai-Perez (1-0) (3-1)--3 points
Necol-Andueza* (0-1) (1-3)--1 point
Gaubeka-Irigoyen* (0-1) (0-3)--0 points

Group B Table:

Arozena*-Ibargarai (1-0) (3-0)--3 points
Zubiri-Ayerbe (1-0) (3-2)--3 points
Ibarguren*-Imanol (0-1) (2-3)--2 points
Fusto-J. Irigoyen* (0-1) (0-3)--0 points

MY ARTICLE: Kirol Txartela Masters Tournament cumulative scores and tables

In an independent match at Armintza Fronton (Lemoiz) contested on July 15, 2016 

Zubiri-Gaubeka defeated Ayerbe-Imanol 3-2 (9-10, 10-8, 8-10, 10-8, 10-6). The match had 89 total points (out of a possible maximum of 95). It took 1 hour and 55 minutes to play.